15th Annual Ripples of Hope Awards Dinner

City Year Chicago would like to appreciate the following individuals and companies for making our April 9, 2014 event the most successful to date, raising a total of $903,685 in support of our service to the students of Chicago. View photos from the evening on City Year's Flickr Page.

City Year Chicago would like to thank and congratulate our honorees:

Mayor Rahm Emanuel
City of Chicago                    

Mark Furlong
CEO, BMO Harris Bank 

City Year Chicago also appreciates our various sponsors for making the evening a success.

Presenting Sponsors

Bain Capital
BMO Harris Bank
GCM Grosvenor
Rauner Family Foundation  

Event CoChairs 

Michael J. Alter, President, The Alter Group 
John A. Canning, Jr, Chairman and Doug Grissom & Ann Grissom, Managing Director, Madison Dearborn Partners, LLC
John Cusack, Vice-Chairman of Finance, DLA Piper 
Casey Keller, President, North America, Wm. Wrigley Jr. Company 
Kirkland & Ellis LLP
Northern Trust
Stephen R. Quazzo, CEO, Pearlmark Real Estate Partners 
Harrison I. Steans, Chairman of the Executive Committee, Financial Investment Corporation 
Jennifer W. Steans, Chief Executive Officer, Financial Investment Corporation 
Michael Watts, President, Midwest Region, Transwestern
Edward J. Wehmer, President and Chief Executive Officer, Wintrust Financial Corporation
The Crown Family
Kent and Liz Dauten, Keystone Capital, Inc.
Energy BBDO
Michael and Jacky Ferro, The Sun-Times Foundation/The Chicago Community Trust
McDonald's Corporation
JPMorgan Chase and Co.
Cathy and Bill Osborn
Sterling Partners
Glenn and Jacqueline Tilton
White Lodging


Ash Anos Freedman & Logan

Bank of America Merrill Lynch Private Banking & Investment Group

Carol Lavin Bernick Family Foundation

The Boston Consulting Group

Chicago Bulls and Chicago White Sox

Comcast | NBC5 | Telemundo Chicago

DDB Chicago

Roger and Stephanie Hochschild




Levenfeld Pearlstein LLC

Robert R. McCormick Foundation

The Pritzker Traubert Family Foundation

The PrivateBank

Quaker Foods North America

Starcom USA

Don and Elizabeth Thompson

Ventas, Inc.

Mark Westhoff, Deutsche Asset and Wealth Management


Print Media Sponsor

Sun Times Splash


2014 Media Sponsor 
Make it Better 

About Ripples of Hope:

Over the past 15 years, City Year’s Ripples of Hope Dinner has become one of Chicago’s premier fundraising events. The evening’s theme stems from Robert F. Kennedy's 1966 address to the University of Cape Town in South Africa, addressing how social change can stem from the heroic acts of a few individuals. 

City Year Chicago honors two of Chicago’s finest leaders with the Ripples of Hope Award and the City Year Red Jacket, for making a positive impact on our city’s schools and communities. City Year’s Red Jacket is a distinction reserved for those who exhibit exemplary leadership including the City Year members who dedicate a year to help students succeed.  

The program also highlights the success of City Year Chicago’s AmeriCorps members who serve in schools to keep students in school and on track to graduate. Guests hear first hand accounts from both students and City Year members who serve full-time in 20 schools across Chicago, providing targeted interventions in attendance, behavior and course performance in math and English.  

Past honorees include: Former Senator Barack Obama; U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan; Governor Pat Quinn; Michael J. Alter of the Alter Group; former President and CEO of Harris Financial Corp., Ellen Costello; John W. Rogers, Jr. of Ariel Capital Management; Deborah DeHaas of Deloitte; President and Chief Executive Officer of McDonald’s, Don Thompson and the Chicago White Sox.