be_ixf;ym_202110 d_15; ct_50 Learn more about City Year’s response to COVID-19
Back to Leadership

Board of Trustees

Our national board of trustees is committed to building stronger communities by supporting local schools and helping our AmeriCorps members become civic leaders.


David L. Cohen BOT
David L. Cohen
Chair of the Board, City Year, Inc.
Senior Executive Vice President and Chief Diversity Officer, Comcast Corporation

Jim Balfanz City Year Board of trustees
Jim Balfanz
CEO, City Year
City Year Boston ’94

Joe Banner photo
Joe Banner
Consultant and Former NFL Executive 

Steve Birchard City Year
Steve Birchard
Principal, Deloitte 

Michele Cahill photo
Michele Cahill
Chief Education Content & Practice Officer, XQ Institute

Tushara Canekeratne photo
Tushara Canekeratne
Founder & CEO, Nadastra, Inc.
Co-Founder, Virtusa Corporation

Sandy Edgerley photo
Sandy Edgerley
Trustee, Edgerley Family Foundation 

David Einhorn photo
David Einhorn
President, Greenlight Capital, Inc. 

Greg Gunn photo
Greg Gunn
Founder, Lingo Ventures, Brooklyn, NY 

Carol Johnson photo
Carol Johnson
Regional Executive Director, New Leaders, Inc. 

Natalie Lamarque photo
Natalie Lamarque
Senior Vice President and General Counsel, New York Life Insurance Company 

Jonathan Lavine photo
Jonathan Lavine
Chair Emeritus, City Year, Inc.
Co-Managing Partner, Bain Capital, LP

Larry Neiterman photo
Larry Neiterman
Principal & National Managing Director, Deloitte Consulting LLP (Retired) 

George Nichols photo
George Nichols III
President & CEO, The American College of Financial Services 

Ana Mari Ortega photo
Ana Mari Ortega
Founder and Creative Director, Ana Mari Ortega, LLC & Director, Ortega Family Foundation

Andrea Encarnacao Martin photo
Andrea Encarnacao Martin
City Year San José/Silicon Valley ’02 Guidance Counselor, Boston Latin School 

C. Gregg Petersmeyer photo
C. Gregg Petersmeyer
Chair, America’s Promise Alliance
Chair & CEO, Personal Pathways, LLC

Jennifer Eplett Reilly photo
Jennifer Eplett Reilly
Co-Founder, City Year, Inc. & Founding Chair, City Year Louisiana
Founding Chair, New Schools For Baton Rouge

Enrique Salem photo
Enrique Salem
Managing Partner, Bain Capital, LP 

Wendy Spencer photo
Wendy Spencer
President & CEO, Leadership Florida 

Stephen Woodsum photo
Stephen Woodsum
Chair Emeritus, City Year, Inc.
Founding Managing Director, Summit Partners

Shanuah Beamon photo
Shanuah Beamon
Co-Clerk of The Board, General Counsel & Senior Vice President, City Year 

Tom Ward photo
Tom Ward
Co-Clerk of The Board, City Year, Inc.
Partner, Wilmerhale, LLP

Charter Trustees

John Bridgeland photo MEC
John Bridgeland

Founder and CEO, Civic 

Michael Brown MEC
Michael Brown
Senior Advisor & Co-Founder,
City Year, Inc.

Andrew Hauptman
Andrew Hauptman
Chairman, Andell Inc.

Alan Khazei image
Alan Khazei
Co-Founder, City Year, Inc.
Founder and CEO, Be The Change, Inc.

Leon Panetta photo
Secretary Leon Panetta
Chairman, The Panetta Institute for Public Policy; Former U.S. Secretary Of Defense 

Rodney Slater photo
Secretary Rodney Slater
Partner, Patton Boggs, LLP; Former U.S. Secretary of Transportation

Honorary Emeritus Trustees

Kristen Atwood
Founding Staff Member, City Year, Inc.

David Gergen
Professor of Public Service And Founding Director Of The Center For Public Leadership, Harvard Kennedy School

Ilene Jacobs
Former Executive Vice President, Human Resources (Retired), Fidelity Investments

Hubie Jones
Dean Emeritus, Boston University School of Social Work


Rosabeth Moss Kanter
Ernest L. Arbuckle Professor, Harvard Business School;
Chair & Director, Harvard University Advanced Leadership Initiative

Jeff Shames
Executive in Residence, MIT Sloan School Of Management

Jeff Swartz
Chair Emeritus, City Year, Inc.
Former President And CEO, The Timberland Company

National Strategic Partners
  • AbbVie logo
  • AT&T logo
  • Comcast NBC/ Universal logo
  • CSX logo
  • Deloitte logo
  • New York Life Foundation logo
  • Red Nose Day logo
National Partners
  • Aramark logo
  • Bain Capital logo
  • Bank of America logo
  • Celanese logo
  • NFL Inspire Change logo
  • Santander logo
  • Taco Bell Foundation logo block for footer